elizabethquintandesigns

Knittin' in the Sun Podcast, Knitting Tips, Tricks, and what's new for Elizabeth Quintan Designs

Designing and the things that go with it!

on July 13, 2011

So I really need to get into this blogging thing more! I have so much going on I need to keep updated!

After finishing another lace project of Wind and Willow Knee High Socks by Ashley Knowlton. These were knit in the Madelinetosh fingering weight 100% Superwash Merino Wool in the Lettuce leaf color way. This is the best picture of the pattern and let me tell you that taking pictures of your own legs is not an easy task! I loved this pattern it was a fun knit and I’m so happy with the way they turned out!

So after finishing these I ran out of things to work on…I know shocking. I went to my stash and found pretty much the yarn I have left is stuff I don’t care for and not anything that I wanted to work with. It’s that kind of yarn that I purchased in the beginning at Michael’s because it was cheap. It 100% Acrylic fingering weight. I have to get rid of it somehow so I chose to do some sort of toy for my darling daughter. I settled on a sock monkey since I have unreasonable amounts of this unloved yarn. I chose the Mybootee Sock Monkee 2.1 by Bobbi Padgett.

The pattern was ok. It wasn’t my favorite, but it was a free pattern and it was understandable for the most part. There were a few areas where I felt the wording was a little strange, but overall it turned out well and my little one LOVES it! So all in all it was a success!

That basically brings me current for the moment. I’m sure you’re wondering what I have brewing…. Well I’m working on something I’m super excited about. Why am I being all cryptic? Well I plan on doing my first magazine submission! Unfortunately that means I can’t talk about the project to much, but I can tell you it is making me a nervous wreck! I’m not really sure why I mean what’s the worse that happens? They say no? It’s all a learning process. I have so many design ideas brewing I hope to be releasing some new patterns in the next few months so stay tuned!

As for everything else I also wanted to announce that I am participating in a fundraiser that Linkin Park is hosting! It is for Japan Tsunami relief. I’m sweetening the deal a little as well! For anyone who donates at least $20 I will be knitting a small item of your choice and color i.e. socks, hats, scarves, mittens, toys, etc. Our goal is $500 by August 15th! For more information or to make a donation please visit our donation page!

That’s all for now except I want to send love to everyone back home in the Northern Chicago suburbs because of the recent storms. I know they caused massive power outages and it has not been easy. So hang in there everyone and know that we are thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

