elizabethquintandesigns

Knittin' in the Sun Podcast, Knitting Tips, Tricks, and what's new for Elizabeth Quintan Designs

Lace, Lace, Lace!!!

on May 12, 2011

Now that the Mother’s Day gifts have arrived I finally get to share my recent adventures. I have been knitting for quite sometime now and have always been slightly apprehensive about knitting a lace pattern. They always look so beautiful, but extremely daunting. So I finally got brave and decided I would bite the bullet and try it out. I found two beautiful patterns on ravelry.com. They seemed beginner friendly enough and had charts and written directions in the pattern.

As I am always attempting to work through my stash I wanted to find a cute Shawl to make for my  mom on one skein. I know quite a task. I obviously ended up looking for a shawlette. The result of my search was 198 Yards of Heaven. I used Berroco Vintage Blue Note. I fell in love with this yarn when I saw it. I wanted to use the striking blue for something special. So this became my first shawlette and my first lace project. I really enjoyed knitting this piece it was simple enough to follow but complex enough that I felt slightly challenged.

My second Mother’s Day project was Branching Out. I really enjoyed this pattern as well I used the Berroco Vintage again in the Kiwi colorway. This was a great pattern because it was quick, as it is a scarf, but it was slightly more complex from the first. This was definitely a good next step from the 198 Yards of Heaven. This was the type of pattern that you have to check every row until you get used to it as the stitch count changes every row.

I really enjoyed my first step into lace knitting although I know this isn’t true lace. This was also one of the first times I chose a pattern that had charts. If you are looking to take your first step into lace knitting I’m here to tell you it isn’t as scary as you might think! My suggestions would be look for a pattern that has both written and charted instructions not only will it help you to learn how to read charts but not everyone is able to read charts so don’t get frustrated if the charts aren’t for you! Also as always pick a yarn you LOVE to work with. Lace takes a little more concentration and often times that means it will take more time to knit. You don’t want to spend a lot of time with a yarn that makes you shy away from the project!

I’d be interested to hear what projects or techniques you have been apprehensive to try!

Leave a Reply

