elizabethquintandesigns

Knittin' in the Sun Podcast, Knitting Tips, Tricks, and what's new for Elizabeth Quintan Designs

Keeping Going…

on January 21, 2011

I know you all are wondering what the heck happened…Well I’m about to tell you.

Life! I actually did pretty well with my New Years resolution until I had a house full of people for two weeks and no room to work. Well now all the people are gone and I’m back to work! So no I did not give up on my resolution I just had to put it on hold. I also modified to make it more “realistic” as my understanding husband said. I’m working on 3-4 items a week rather than one a day. I will have pictures of what’s already done up shortly.

Not only have I been working towards getting back to my resolution, but as some of you might know I have started a Yoga Teacher Training at YogaWorks. This is one of the most incredible things I have ever decided to do and I’ve found my creative process is not only being helped by this new experience, but I am extremely inspired by it. Learning to deepen my Yoga practice has made me appreciate certain things in life more and realize that not everything is instant. I know you’re thinking “well duh!” Anyone who knows me knows that I’m an extremely impatient person and learning to slow down and realize that things happen with time is not something I’ve ever been good at. As with my resolution I am taking my goals more seriously. I know where I want to be by the end of the year and in the next five years. I know it won’t happen over night, but I also know that if I don’t start working towards it now I’ll never achieve my goals.

Tell me about your difficulties. I’d love to hear about what goals you are working towards and things that you may find can seriously hinder or put your progress to a halt. Is there any way you can see to avoid having these difficulties? As I said in my last post we are creatures of poor self-discipline and lack of accountability. How can you work towards making yourself accountable for your goals and your progress? With our New Years Resolutions we talked about finding a partner to help keep your resolution. What things are your partner helping you with that maybe you could start to do on your own in different aspects of your life?

One thing I’ve tried that seems to be working well is writing down my goals and putting them some where I can see them. I am terrible at follow through and if I don’t have a constant reminder I won’t ever get anything done. I keep a To-Do List around at all times or I will forget everything. By the way careful where you leave your To-Do Lists because spouses love to add their things to your To-Do List! Posting my goals and the small mile markers I’m able to “check off” along the way gives me a great sense of accomplishment and helps to motivate me to keep going! Look at your own goals write them down and post them somewhere you can see them! Modify as necessary, but don’t forget them or let go of them! Leave me some comments let me know about your progress!

One response to “Keeping Going…

  1. Ant says:

    Sounds like great advice! Sometimes the ‘simplest’ stuff is the most profound.

Leave a Reply

