elizabethquintandesigns

Knittin' in the Sun Podcast, Knitting Tips, Tricks, and what's new for Elizabeth Quintan Designs

Overcoming Challenges

on November 22, 2010

Although I planned to do so many things this weekend I accomplished hardly anything! Looking back I tried to figure out where the time went and how to better my organizational skills. One thing I realized it doesn’t matter and although I have gotten into the habit of scheduling every second of my day I need to remember to go with the flow when necessary and enjoy life as it comes. I say this because Mondays are my what I learned over the weekend articles. So here’s what I learned (aside from taking a break from my schedule):

I learned that a rainy day costs less money than a Sunny day:

Every weekend we make big plans to explore the area as we are still getting used to Sunny San Diego. Well Saturday we were rained in. As all of the activities here in SoCal are outdoors we were forced to stay in doors. We managed to have quite a relaxing day. Eric and I hobbied together (not the same hobbies I might add). This is something we haven’tdone in quite some time. And I even got him to play some guitar for the first time in over a year. So we had a nice day as a family and didn’t spend a dime! Remember the next time it’s raining be creative find a hobby or game around the house you haven’t played in a while and revisit it!

I also learned that the joys of Yoga never cease to amaze me:

I have been practicing Yoga for about 4 or 5 years now and it is one of the greatest things I have ever done for myself. I’ve had many people along the way say it’s silly because they simply don’t understand. I’m here to tell you if you’re a naysayer or have been meaning to try Yoga for a long time GO FOR IT!!! Yoga not only makes you healthier and all those good for you things, but it reminds you to step away from yourself and the crazy every day trials and stress we go through. It gives you a new perspective on your problems and how to break down difficult tasks so they don’t seem so daunting. I am ever the procrastinator! I always have been, but Yoga has taught me that if I tackle bits and pieces over a period of time nothing is as bad as it seems. Well Yoga and my ever patient husband have taught me that. So as I’ve said if anything thing seems to tough to handle or you’re looking for something small you can do to improve your life try Yoga maybe a beginner class maybe just a few breathing exercises. If you’re still thinking it’s silly to sit in a room and tie yourself in a pretzel while some one tells you to breathe easy just remember take a few deep breaths and try a new perspective on the difficult task or decision at hand. And if all else fails just remember there’s always tomorrow!

So that’s what I learned this weekend enjoy your rainy days and enjoy a little Yoga and you’ll be a better person for yourself and those you love. As for me I’m off to knit, dye, and create!

Leave a Reply

