elizabethquintandesigns

Knittin' in the Sun Podcast, Knitting Tips, Tricks, and what's new for Elizabeth Quintan Designs

Hello world!

on October 24, 2010

I would like to start off by saying blogging is an addiction that I hope you can join me in!! For those of you who don’t know me a little about myself:

My name is Amanda I am the knitwear designer and fiber artist behind Elizabeth Quintan Designs. I have many hobbies and passions but none of them are as encompassing as my fiber arts. I could get lost in a pattern for hours on end. It was about 6 months ago I decided since I spend so much time in my knitting world it was time to start doing something I loved for a living. We all go through a period in our lives where we say why am I doing this? Is this where I want to be in 5 years? For me this time came when contemplating going back to work after the birth of my beautiful daughter! I knew I had to have an income, but I didn’t want to leave her at such a young age and I didn’t want to be miserable every day. Turning my passion for knitting and fiber arts into a career seemed like the perfect solution! I jumped in head first and have not looked back since!

I am originally from Chicago. My husband joined the Marine Corps in Jan. of this year and I got the chance to live in beautiful Maryland, and we are now located in San Diego, CA. Having sunny weather in the beginning of November is not something I am accustomed to, but I must say I’m enjoying it.

Some other things I enjoy doing other than knitting, spinning, and crocheting are reading, writing, and spending time with my family. We love to go site seeing and this past weekend we got to enjoy Disneyland!

What to expect?

Well I can tell you having an infant at home can be quite time consuming, but very inspirational. So some things you can expect from me are going to be new designs every approximately once a week most likely on Friday’s. You can expect my knitting tip of the week on Wednesdays, and a What I learned over the weekend segment on Monday’s. I’ll check in on other days as well.

I love to give reviews or (opinions) of my new favorite books, classes, and events I may be involved in or attending. I’m not one to limit this to just knitting so if you’re looking for some parenting advice or just some new parent humor I’m sure I’ll be providing some of that as I try to balance being a new mom having a new business, and staying sane all at the same time! Check out my store for what’s new from Elizabeth Quintan Designs at aequintan08.etsy.com.

Leave a Reply

